Michael Kennedy: The Works of Ralph Vaughan Williams - Second Edition

Michael Kennedy: The Works of Ralph Vaughan Williams - Second Edition

 Not Available Online
Other Buying Options click and collect This item is currently not available for Click and Collect

Reserve product at Store


Please complete the form and click the submit button. This will notify our store that you wish to reserve this product.

Our store will contact you to confirm the reservation.

Please do not travel until the store has contacted you.

Please double check your phone number, if it is incorrect we will be unable to contact you.

We aim to get back to you within the hour, during shop hours (please see store details), to confirm your reservation. If you do not hear from us then please resend the request.

Our Price: £32.00    Change Currency
Media: Book
Composer: Ralph Vaughan Williams
Catalogue #: 9780198163305
ISBN: 9780198163305


This is the authoritative account of Vaughan Williams's musical life - the story of a great composer's career, and at the same time the story of music in England over half a century and more. Kennedy considers the principal works in chronological order, outlining the main features of each and discussing details of the music's structure, often illuminating his point with a musical quotation. He also provides a good deal of biographical data, and so builds up a picture of the composer, as well as providing thumbnail sketches of many of Vaughan Williams's friends and colleagues.

Kennedy's extensive knowledge of Vaughan Williams's output also enables him to refer back and forth across the works to pick out lines of development and influence. The book includes a full classified list of Vaughan Williams's works. Michael Kennedy has provided a new preface.

Readership: Students of the music of Ralph Vaughan Williams.

There are no reviews in your language.

More Product Details

Sales Rank: Not specified
Published on: 29/01/2008
Format: Biography
Length: 464 pages
Language: English
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Author: Michael Kennedy

Share this product with your friends using the icons below.