Johnny Griffin: From Johnny Griffin With Love (3CD/DVD)

 In Stock. Usually ships in 24 hours
Other Buying Options click and collect This item is currently not available for Click and Collect

Reserve product at Store


Please complete the form and click the submit button. This will notify our store that you wish to reserve this product.

Our store will contact you to confirm the reservation.

Please do not travel until the store has contacted you.

Please double check your phone number, if it is incorrect we will be unable to contact you.

We aim to get back to you within the hour, during shop hours (please see store details), to confirm your reservation. If you do not hear from us then please resend the request.

Our Price: £34.99    Change Currency
Media: 3 x CD
Artist: Johnny Griffin
Catalogue #: STV1088605


Johnny Arnold Griffin III is his real name. He was also called the The Little Giant or The Fastest Gun Alive and The Tough Tenors when he was playing with Eddie Lockjaw Davis. Johnny Griffin was the fastest swinging tenorplayer in Jazz which you will hear when you listen to this 3 CD 1 DVD box set.

CD 1 was recorded in April 1964 when he played the Montmartre Club with Art Taylor, Kenny Drew and Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen.

CD 2 was also from Montmartre recorded July 10, 1984 with Eddie Lockjaw Davis (The Tough Tenors) Harry Pickens, Curtis Lundy and Kenny Washington.

CD 3 was recorded at Jazzhus Slukefter in the Tivoli Garden July 15, 1989 with Kenny Drew, Jens Melgaard and Ole Streenberg.

DVD. 1

  • 1. Opening & Blues For Gonzi
  • 2. A Monk’S Dream
  • 3. 56 & Closing
  • 4. S’Wonderful
  • 5. Shiny Stockings

CD. 1

  • 6. Body And Soul
  • 7. Wee Dot
  • 8. Doctor’s Blues
  • 9. Exactly Like You
  • 10. A Night In Tunisia

CD. 2

  • 11. Blues Up And Down
  • 12. Oh,Gee
  • 13. Funky Fluke
  • 14. Hey Lock
  • 15. Lester Leaps In
  • 16. Intermission Riff

CD. 3

  • 17. Just Friends
  • 18. If I Should Lose You
  • 19. Hush-A-Bye
  • 20. Slukefter Blues
  • 21. Isfahan
  • 22. Rhythm-A-Ning

There are no reviews in your language.

More Product Details

Sales Rank: Not specified
Published on: 05/04/2013
Format: Recorded Performance
Length: Not specified
Language: English
Brand: Storyville Records

Share this product with your friends using the icons below.