Duke Ellington: The Treasury Shows Volume 15

Duke Ellington: The Treasury Shows Volume 15

 In Stock. Usually ships in 24 hours
Other Buying Options click and collect This item is currently not available for Click and Collect

Reserve product at Store


Please complete the form and click the submit button. This will notify our store that you wish to reserve this product.

Our store will contact you to confirm the reservation.

Please do not travel until the store has contacted you.

Please double check your phone number, if it is incorrect we will be unable to contact you.

We aim to get back to you within the hour, during shop hours (please see store details), to confirm your reservation. If you do not hear from us then please resend the request.

Our Price: £13.50    Change Currency
Media: 2 x CD
Artist: Duke Ellington
Catalogue #: STV9039015


Treasury volume 15 contains Treasury programs 28 & 29 + 2 MBS Broadcasts from the "Pastel Period". This is the first volume that Storyville is issuing after Jerry Valburn's death. The series will continue until the end which will be volume 24.

The Treasure Shows were launched on April 7th, 1945 while the band was performing at the 400 Restaurant in New York. These wonderful broadcasts ran through November 1945 and picked up again in April 1946 through early October.

CD 1
1. (Theme) Take The A Train
2. Johnny Come Lately
3. I Can’t Believe That You’re In Love With Me
4. I’ll Buy That Dream
5. Stomp, Look And Listen into station break
6. (Theme) Take The A Train and broadcast return
7. The Wonder Of You – vocal Joya Sherill
8. Ellington bond promo
9. Joshua Fit The Battle Of Jericho – vocal Golden Gate Quartet
10. The General Jumped At Dawn – vocal Golden Gate Quartet
11. Mood To Be Wooed
12. Three Cent Stomp
13. Yesterdays – vocal Kay Davis
14. Ellington bond promo
15. Do Nothin’ Till You Hear From Me – vocal Al Hibbler
16. Stompy Jones into 3
17. Time’s A-Wastin’ and broadcast closing
18. As Time Goes By
19. Way Low
20. Around My Heart
21. Perdido
22. Ogeechee River Lullaby

CD 2

1. Oh! Lady Be Good
2. Nevada
3. Just Squeeze Me (Subtle Slough)
4. (Theme) Take The A Train & broadcast intro
5. Clementine
6. The Jeep Is Jumpin’
7. Don’t Take Your Love From Me – vocal Al Hibbler
8. It Don’t Mean A Thing – vocal Taft Jordan
9. Ellington bond promo
10. If You Are But A Dream – vocal Kay Davis
11. Emancipation Celebration
12. Caldonia – vocal The Mellotones
13. Ring Dem Bells into station break 3
14. (Theme) Take The A Train and broadcast return
15. A Door Will Open
16. Ellington bond promo
17. Court Session
18. That’s For Me
19. On The Atcheson, Topeka And The Santa Fe
20. Every Hour On The Hour – vocal Al Hibbler
21. Ellington bond promo
22. How Deep Is The Ocean
23. Ellington and the announcer “Joya’s Audition”
Victory Drive – vocal Joya Sherill
24. Autumn Serenade – vocal Joya Sherill
25. (Theme) Take The A Train into broadcast closing

There are no reviews in your language.

More Product Details

Sales Rank: Not specified
Published on: 09/04/2013
Format: Recorded Performance
Length: Not specified
Language: English
Brand: Storyville Records

Share this product with your friends using the icons below.